Illinois Sex Offender Frequently Asked Questions
1. How long must an offender remain registered as a sex offender and how often are they required to register?
A sex offender must register in person annually for a period of 10 years. The 10-year registration period will start upon conviction for those offenders sentenced to probation. Those offenders sentenced to the Illinois Department of Corrections, another state's department of corrections, or federal corrections must register for 10 years from final parole, discharge, or release.
An offender must register in person once a year. The offender must re-register within 1 year of the date of their last registration and every year thereafter.
An offender who is convicted of a violation of the Illinois Sex Offender Registration Act on or after July 1, 2005 are required to register every 90 days for the duration of their registration.
Those offenders adjudicated as Sexually Dangerous or Sexually Violent, must register every 90 days for natural life.
Upon completion of an offender's 10-year registration period, their information will no longer appear on the web site.
Offenders classified as a sexual predator must register annually for his/her natural life.
2. Where does a sex offender register?
A sex offender must register with the Pike County Sheriff's office.
3. Must a sex offender register if they move?
An offender must register any and all places he or she resides for a period of 5 or more days in a calendar year. If an offender changes his or her address, he or she must inform the local law enforcement agency in which they reside of the move, and the law enforcement agency in which they are moving to within 5 days of that move.
4. If an offender is visiting from another state, are they required to register?
A sex offender visiting the State of Illinois for more than 5 days in a calendar year will be required to register with the local law enforcement jurisdiction where the sex offender is staying. This means cumulative days; it does not necessarily have to be 5 consecutive days.
5. What should I do if I believe any of the information contained on this website is inaccurate?
You can report the information to the Pittsfield Police Department and reqest they investigate or you may contact the Illinois State Police Sex Offender Registration Unit at 217/785-0653.
6. Are sex offenders allowed on school grounds?
It is unlawful for a child sex offender to be present in any school building or property, or loiter within 500 feet of school property without the permission of the superintendent or school board, or in the case of a private school the principal unless the child sex offender is a parent of a child at that school, and the parent is on school grounds for one of the following reasons:
- to attend a conference at the school with school personnel to discuss the progress of his or her child academically or socially;
- to participate in child review conferences in which evaluation and placement decisions may be made with respect to his or her child regarding special education services;
- to attend conferences to discuss other student issues concerning his or her child such as retention and promotion; or
- the offender's voting place is the school.
7. Are schools provided with sex offender information?
The Illinois State Police receives addresses of schools from the State Board of Education on a quarterly basis. This information is sent out to the Illinois Sheriff's Departments who are responsible for providing a list of sex offenders in their county to the superintendent/school board of the public schools, and the principal of the private schools. In the city of Chicago, the police department is responsible for school notification.
8. How close can a child sex offender live to a school?
It is unlawful for a child sex offender to reside within 500 feet of a school, playground, or any facility providing programs or services exclusively directed toward people under age 18, unless they owned the property prior to July 7, 2000.
9. Can a child sex offender live with children?
There is nothing in the Sex Offender Registration Act that prohibits a child sex offender from being around children, unless it is at a park, school, or any location designed exclusively for people under the age of 18. If you would like a further investigation into the welfare of a child present in the same house as an offender, you should contact the Department of Children and Family Services. The Department of Children and Family Service Hotline is 800-25-ABUSE.
10. As a victim of a sex offense, can I be notified of an offender's whereabouts? How do I sign up to receive notification?
A victim and the victim's parent or legal guardian may request automatic notification of the change of address of the associated registered sex offender. To obtain automatic notification, the individual must notify the Illinois State Police, Sex Offender Registration, 201 East Adams, Suite 150, Springfield, IL 62701, in writing of their request to receive automatic notification. It is the responsibility of the requestor to notify the Illinois State Police of any updates with the requestor's current address.
11. How do I obtain offense information in addition to what is listed on the web site?
Additional information about a sex offender's conviction can be obtained by contacting the circuit clerk's office of the county in which the offender was convicted to get a copy of the offender's court case information. Additionally, criminal history information on an offender may be obtained through the Uniform Conviction Information Act.
12. How do photos get posted on the website? Why do some offenders not have a photo on file?
By law, every time a sex offender registers, the local law enforcement agency must take a photo of the offender. The local law enforcement agency must forward a copy of the photo to the Illinois State Police to be added to the web site.
Some offenders lack photos on file due to a photo not being taken at registration with the local law enforcement agency, or because the photo was never forwarded to the Illinois State Police. The Illinois State Police tries to ensure all sex offenders have a photo attached to their information. If you see an offender that lacks a photo on the web site, you should contact the local law enforcement agency to inquire about the lack of a photo.
13. What is a Sexual Predator?
'Sexual predator' means any person who is convicted of a violation or attempted violation of the following sections of the Criminal Code of 1961, and the conviction occurred after July 1, 1999:
- Keeping a Place of Juvenile Prostitution;
- Juvenile Pimping;
- Exploitation of a Child;
- Child Pornography;
- Criminal Sexual Assault, if the victim is under age 12;
- Criminal Sexual Assault, regardless of the victim's age (if convicted on or after January 1,2006);
- Aggravated Criminal Sexual Assault;
- Predatory Criminal Sexual Assault;
- Aggravated Criminal Sexual Abuse;
- Ritualized Abuse of a Child;
- Conviction of first degree murder, when the victim was a person under 18 years of age and the defendant was at least 17 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense and the offense was sexually motivated as defined in Section 10 of the Sex Offender Management Board Act;
- Certified as a Sexually Dangerous Person pursuant to the Sexually Dangerous Persons Act or any substantially similar federal, sister state, or foreign country law;
- Found to be Sexually Violent pursuant to the Sexually Violent Commitment Act or any substantially similar federal, sister state, or foreign country law;
- Convicted of a 2nd or subsequent offense, after July 1, 1999 which would require registration pursuant to the Sex Offender Registration Act; or
- A conviction for an offense of federal law, Uniform Code of Military Justice, law of another state or foreign country that is substantially equivalent to any of the these offenses listed above.
Sexual Predators are required to register annually for their natural life.
14. What is a Sexually Dangerous Person?
All persons suffering from a mental disorder, which the mental disorder has existed for a period of not less than one year, coupled with criminal propensities to the commission of sex offenses, and who have demonstrated propensities toward acts of sexual assault or acts of sexual molestation of children, are hereby declared sexually dangerous persons. Sexually Dangerous People are required to register every 90 days for natural life.
15. What is a Sexually Violent Person?
"Sexually violent person" means a person who has been convicted of a sexually violent offense, has been adjudicated delinquent for a sexually violent offense, or has been found not guilty of a sexually violent offense by reason of insanity and who is dangerous because he or she suffers from a mental disorder that makes it substantially probable that the person will engage in acts of sexual violence. Sexually violent people are required to register every 90 days for natural life.
16. What does Non-Compliant mean?
A sex offender becomes non-compliant when he or she fails to:
- Register with the local law enforcement agency within 5 days of notification by the Illinois Department of Corrections or the Court; or
- Register annually; or
- Register quarterly (if applicable); or
- Provide complete and accurate information to law enforcement personnel during registration; or
- Change his or her address or other information without notifying law enforcement personnel.
In addition to being Non-Compliant, a person may be listed with a Location Unknown status.
17. What is Location Unknown mean?
The sex offender has vacated his last reported address and has not provided new information regarding his current whereabouts to law enforcement as required by law. Law enforcement officials have confirmed that the offender has vacated the last known address by conducting a physical address verification of the offenders last reported address. The offender's current whereabouts at this time are unknown.
Law enforcement agencies are required by law to verify a sex offender's residence in person at least once per year.